Getting Real Chapter 4: Priorities

A lot og people are always cramming and making their own goals like today I have to do this tomorrow I have to finish this well yes it is good to have a proper schedule of things but it would be better if you would not cram yourself too much because once you do your brain would be very busy thinking of the deadline rather than thinking in how to make your work better. In applications or softwares this is one of the major reason that there are program’s that has a lot of bugs. I can relate this to my past programming classes because I usually want to finish my work early or I would do it a day before the submition day so I usually cram a lot and when I pass my program to my professors they would usually see a lot of bugs because I only focused in the requirements of the program and did not check for other possible improvements. So not I learned to make my programs early the ask my friends to test the program for me so that incase I miss some bugs there is a bigger possibility that they would find it and inform me about it.

Last semester I had a programming class that required us to do a lottery system and at the same time use a the MVC design pattern. Of all my programming projects this was the hardest because I was not really use to program using a design pattern and making a system is very hard. The professor gave us a month to do this project he gave us the requirements little by little personally I hate remaking things so I waited for him to give all the requirements before starting the project he was finished giving all the requirments on the 2nd week so I only had a week to finish the project thank god there was a long weekend and he extended the project for another week if not I would have not finished on time for the submittion and because I did a last minute work I had to have 4 days of no sleep just to finish the project.

Focusing and pleasing the customers are one of the most important things that businesses should do because this would give a good impression for the company and the customers would recommend more people if they are satisfied.

Making an opinion software is good but I disagree when they said that they software should not be flexible becasue making a software fexible would enable upgrades and add features to it plus the program can have multipurpose which could lower the cost’s for the company and make the programmers job easier because rather than making an new system he could just reuse the old system and add features to it which would lessen the work load.

~ by tklc on September 18, 2008.

Leave a comment